The Tabby Cat is not a breed, but a color pattern. A tabby cat will have stripes most often, but they will also have stripes and whorls, as well as stripes and spots.

A tabby pattern is quite varied. It’s now found in a number of pedigreed cat breeds as an accepted color pattern.

  • Abyssinian (ticked tabby pattern)
  • American Bobtail
  • American Curl
  • American Shorthair (classic tabby pattern)
  • American Wirehair
  • Birman (tabby points)
  • Colorpoint Shorthair (tabby point)
  • Egyptian Mau (original spotted tabby)
  • Exotic (shorthaired Persian)
  • Javanese (tabby point)
  • LaPerm
  • Maine Coon (popular tabby cat)
  • Manx
  • Norwegian Forest Cat
  • Ocicat – selectively bred to create the spots
  • Oriental (112 accepted tabby combinations)
  • Persian
  • Ragdoll (tabby point)
  • Rex (Devon, Selkirk, and Cornish)
  • Scottish Fold
  • Siberian (“natural” breed of tabby cats)
  • Singapura (ticked tabby pattern)
  • Somali (longhair ticked tabby pattern)
  • Turkish Angora (14 accepted tabby patterns)
  • Turkish Van (6 accepted tabby patterns)

Types of Tabby Patterns

  • Classic: This pattern usually has whorls ending in a “target” on the side of the cat.

classic tabby cat

  • Point: A tabby point is common amongst Siamese Birman, and oriental cat breeds. They will have tabby markings around the face, tail and legs.

tabby point cat

  • Striped Mackerel: This is by far the most common tabby pattern, with striped rings around their tail and legs, a “necklace” of stripes on the front of their chests, and bands of solid or broken stripes running down the sides of their bodies.

orange mackeral tabby cat

  • Spotted: The Ocicat and the American Bobtail are good examples of spotted tabby pattern, although some Moggies will also demonstrate this color pattern.

spotted tabby cat

  • Ticked: Agouti hairs will be a part of this pattern, and if you look closely, you’ll see different bands of color down the length of the cat’s hairs.

agouti tabby cat